Cloning and commenting

Understanding the Quickwork. Quickwork is a no-code, API-based SaaS platform with pre-integrated apps to automate business and consumer workflows.

Quickwork allows manipulative operations for each element a journey has. You can clone a journey, comment at each step of the journey, and delete the unnecessary elements of a journey as per your needs. Let's drill down this document and understand it in a better way.

Cloning a journey

Cloning a journey gives you an exact copy of the parent journey including, a trigger, action(s), conditions, formulas, input data, and data pills passed from the Data Tree Output. The only thing to deal with a cloned journey is to re-establish the connections of a trigger and actions. You can connect through existing connections or create a new one.

Cloning of a journey is possible from the Folders window and journey configuration manager.

Cloning a journey from the Folders window

Select the folder of which journey(s) you want to clone. Then, click the horizontal ellipsis at the right corner of the journey section and click the Clone button. A replica of the journey will be created with Copy as a prefix to the journey name:

Figure 1: Cloning a journey from the Folders window

Cloning a journey from the journey window

Go to the journey you want to clone and click the Clone button. You'll be redirected to the cloned journey window, where you can start working with triggers and actions. Refer to the following GIF:

Figure 2: Cloning a journey from the journey configuration window

Cloning an action step

Cloning an action step will give you a replica of the original action with defined input fields, mentioned data pills, established connections, and scripted formulas. Cloning applies to simple actions and conditional blocks.

To clone, hover on the action bar and click the Clone button. A copy of the action will be created below it:

Figure 3: Cloning an action

A trigger cannot be cloned because a journey can have only one trigger to configure.

Deleting a journey

Unlike cloning, deleting a journey is possible from the Folders and journey configuration manager. Deleting a journey will result in a permanent loss of the journey data from your account.

Deleting a journey from the Folders window

Navigate to the folder in which you want to delete a journey. Then, click the horizontal ellipsis at the right corner of the journey section and click the Delete button. A confirmation tab will pop up to delete the journey permanently:

Figure 4: Deleting a journey from the Folders window

Click the Delete button. A confirmation screen will appear. Once confirmed, the journey will get deleted permanently.

However, a journey in an active state cannot be deleted. Its execution needs to be stopped in order to delete it from the folder. Quickwork won't display the Delete button for the journeys in the active state. Refer to the following image:

Figure 5: No delete button for the active journeys

Deleting a journey from the journey configuration manager

Go to the journey you want to delete and click the Delete button beside Save & Start button. A confirmation window will pop up asking you to delete the journey. When you click the Delete button, the journey will be permanently deleted, and you'll be taken back to the Folders window:

Figure 6: Deleting a journey from the journey configuration window

Deleting an action step

Hover on the step bar and click the Delete Step button. Upon confirming, the action will be deleted. Deleting an action might hamper the execution of a journey. So, ensure the configuration of a journey is flawless before executing it:

Figure 7: Deleting a action step

A trigger cannot be deleted as it is the starting point of journey execution.

Adding and deleting a comment

Commenting helps you associate short keynotes, hints, labels, priorities, etc, to a trigger or action(s) of a journey. This feature is most helpful for long journeys where IF...Else block, Try-Catch blocks, and actions configured within are complex to understand. In such cases, referring to the comments give immediate mind clicks about the working of each action block configured.

Hover on the trigger/action bar and click the Add Comment button:

Figure 8: Adding a comment

Then, type the text you want to add as a comment and hit the Enter key. The comment will appear below the trigger/action statement in italics:

Figure 9: Comment added

To delete a comment, click on the Add Comment button and manually delete the comment text by hitting the Backspace key. Then, hit Enter to save the changes within.