Team

Quickwork provides a no-code, API-based, enterprise-grade SaaS platform with 1,000s of pre-integrated apps to automate various business and consumer workflows.

Working collaboratively not only achieves targets in quick time but also solves issues effectively. With the help of the Team feature, users can invite their colleagues, friends, and customers to collaborate and assign roles as per the business requirements. Let's walk through this document and understand the working of Team.

Prerequisite rules of a team:

  1. Only one team can be created in an account.

  2. A team can have any number of members added.

  3. A person can be a member of more than one team.

  4. Any person can be invited to join the team regardless of being a user of Quickwork.

  5. Only the owner of the team can invite a member, edit roles, and delete a member.

The analogy of Team works in the participation of an owner and one or more members. To understand the Team feature effectively, let us consider a scenario where John Doe is an owner and Marlon Samuels is a member.

Creating a team

To start working with your team members collaboratively, you need to first create a team before adding the people. To do so, click the Tools menu on the toolbar and select Team from the drop-down menu:

Figure 1: Team

The Team window has four tabs:

  1. Members: It displays a list of members who have accepted the invitation and joined your team successfully.

  2. Invitations: It displays a list of people to whom an owner has sent an invitation to join and work collaboratively.

  3. Invites: It displays a list of team invitations received from the respective owners.

  4. Settings: This tab allows to create/edit a team.

To create a team, go to the Settings tab, specify the name of the team, and click the Create button:

Figure 2: Creating a team

Only one team can be created in an account. Once created, it can be edited but not deleted.

The account in which we created a team just now has some folders with journeys populated in it. Once the team members are added and they accept the invitation, all these folders and journeys are accessible to them as per the roles assigned:

Figure 3: John Doe's (owner) account who created a team

Adding a member

To add a team member, click the + Add Team Member button at the top right-hand corner of the Team window. This will open a pop-up form-page window asking a few details of the member:

Figure 4: Adding a member

Specify the First name, Last name, and Email of the person to whom you want to send the invitation. Then select the role you want to assign to that person. To know the permissions associated with each role, click the permissions table link. The permission table highlights the operations that a member can perform on a folder, journey, connection, version history, and more as per the role assigned. Then, click the Submit button. The invitation gets sent successfully.

Now, move to the Invitations tab. You'll see the name of the person to whom an invitation has been sent:

Figure 5: The Invitations tab

Here, John Doe is the (owner) who has sent an invitation to a person called Marlon Samuels. The member's name won't get displayed in the Members tab until the invitation is accepted.

Accepting the invitation

The invitee will get an invitation email. The invitation email showcases the team name and assigned role as per which the invitee is asked to contribute. To accept the invitation, click the View Invitation button:

Figure 7: The invitation email

Upon clicking, the invitee gets redirected to the Team Invites tab under the User account menu. If the member has not logged in to the account, he will be asked to do so:

Figure 8: The Invites tab of the invitee

Once the Accept button is clicked, the invitee becomes a member of the team successfully. Now, the name of the member who has accepted the invitation can be seen in the Members tab of the owner's account:

Figure 9: The member added successfully

Working with the team

To start working with the assigned team, the member needs to click the User account menu. The member will get the Workspaces option in the drop-down menu. It displays a list of teams the member is a part of with the roles assigned:

Figure 10: Team names to work with

As soon as the member (Marlon Samuels) clicks the Development Team option, he will be taken to the Folders window of the owner's (John Doe) account:

Figure 11: An invitee access all the elements of the owner's account

The member can then access all the components of the owner's account such as journeys, folders, connections, version history of the journeys and can work collaboratively with the owner.

Any changes incorporated in the journey by the owner/member(s) can be seen in the Versions tab. It shows the latest version of the journey against the name of the person who has deployed it. This can be seen in the owner and the member account:

Figure 12: Changes done by member and owner

The member can easily switch between the team and his account with a single mouse click. Simply, click the profile icon again and switch between the Workplaces:

Figure 13: Switching back to the official account

The Me identifier denotes the official account of the invitee. The member gets redirected to his account.

Editing a role

The owner who has invited the people to the team has the privilege to edit the member role. Simply click the horizontal ellipsis and click the Edit option:

Figure 14: Editing the member role

A dialog box appears containing the three roles for a member. Select the role and click the Update button:

Figure 15: Roles table

You'll get a confirmation screen for the update member role.

Deleting a member

To do this, simply click the three horizontal ellipsis icon associated with the member name. Then, click the Delete button. The person will be removed from the team permanently and will have no access to the owner's account:

Figure 16: Deleting a member

Only the owner of the team has the right to delete a team member.

In this way, you can add as many members of your choice who have a distinctive skill set making the workspace a collaborative canvas altogether. As many expertise join together, the end result is of top quality achieved in minimal time.